European Union Affairs

The European Union Affairs Committee (EAC) plays an important role in gathering postal regulatory experts from the 27 EU countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. It is a European centre of excellence on postal regulatory affairs.

Christelle Defaye-Geneste
Chair of the EAC
La Poste Groupe
Marta Capelo
Vice-Chair of the EAC
CTT Portugal Post
Dariusz Parzuchowski
Vice-Chair of the EAC
Poczta Polska

The EAC contributes to shaping the European regulatory environment, mitigate the effects of regulation on the postal sector and give Members a voice in the process.

As a forum for debate and discussion, the EAC increases understanding about the EU regulatory framework, fosters the exchange of insights and expertise amongst members, provides operators with an important link to EU institutions as well as initiates lobbying activities on regulatory topics impacting the postal industry.

Focus areas

Postal directive

The postal directive, adopted in 1997 and modified in 2002 and 2008, created a common regulatory framework whose objectives is to accomplish the Internal Market for postal services and to ensure a reliable universal postal service. These two objectives are complemented by a series of measures linked to the regulation of postal services as well as the consumer protection and the maintenance of social provisions in the postal sector.


On 22 May 2018, the EU Regulation on cross-border parcel delivery services came into force and parcel delivery service providers are required to provide their public list prices for a certain set of products to the relevant National Regulatory Authority (NRA) who assesses the tariffs. PostEurop experts continue to monitor the implementation of this regulation and engage in regular stakeholder dialogues.


Digital services

Data protection


Transport & environment

Environment, social and governance (ESG) reporting

Download here PostEurop’s Manifesto for the Legislative Period 2019-2024

Delivering a Sustainable European Post (2019-2024)