Turkish PTT adds a second trophy in three years by winning the EUROPA 2013 Competition

PostEurop proudly announced Turkish PTT (Turkey), Magyar Posta (Hungary), Poczta Polska (Poland) and Swisspost (Switzerland) as the winners of the 2013 EUROPA Stamp Competition at the PostEurop Plenary Assembly in Brussels.

In this 22nd consecutive year 57 entries based themselves on the theme "Van of the Postman" in order to promote the undoubtedly most mobile, dynamic and visible daily symbol of each postal operator's presence in their own country – the postal van.  The results of this year’s EUROPA Stamp competition were disclosed yesterday during the PostEurop 20th Anniversary Plenary Assembly in Brussels. For the second time in three years, Turkish PTT has been chosen as the most beautiful EUROPA stamp by the online voters. The close first-runner up of the EUROPA Stamp competition was Magyar Posta from Hungary, and finally, the second-runner up of the EUROPA Stamp competition went to both Poczta Polska from Poland and Swisspost from Switzerland who tied with the same number of votes.

Markku Penttinen, Chairman of the PostEurop Stamps and Philately working group from Itella Posti added, “This special theme chosen for 2013 in conjunction with PostEurop’s 20th Anniversary, was indeed a challenge for most designers as they attempt to not look all the same and still bring their individual characteristics to the design.”

The EUROPA campaign this year registered more than 11,000 votes.  “This is a major increase from last year’s total number of votes by 37% raising the bar for next year’s competition.  We can be sure that EUROPA stamps are gaining visibility amongst collectors and the postal community” commented Botond Szebeny, PostEurop Secretary General.

The prizes for both the Jury and public voting competitions will be handed out during the Belgian Philatelic Grand Prix to be held in the Brussels City Hall on 21 September 2013.

The theme for next year’s competition will be “National Music Instruments”.

Congratulations to all the winners.




    footer picture